Summer Camp

I have been away from the blog for a while.  Trying to catch up on other things, but you know how that is.  You never seem to catch up!  Then with the summer season upon us, the lure of sunshine and warm weather is sometimes too tempting to ignore.  But I am back and will try not to stay away again for so long. 

Well here we are, almost the end of July and it seems as if the summer just started.  The kids are out of school and attending some sort of camp or are on vacation with the family.  I myself attended the PAL, which stands for Police Athletic League,  daycamp and then later on the sleep away camp courtesy of the Fresh Air Fund and the Girl Scouts.  I had more fun than you can image.  Swimming , camp fires, and field trips marked every summer while I was growing up. 

Of course when you are a kid, you don’t realize what summer camp meant for your parents.  Because my sister and I were raised by a single parent with the help of wonderful grandparents, the PAL was a great way to keep us entertained while my mother was at work.  Moreover it gave my grandparents a much needed break after a busy school year.  The PAL is a non for profit organization that has been around since 1914.  For more information, check out their website at: http://www.palnyc.org/800-PAL-4KIDS/Home.aspx.   And like the PAL, The Fresh Air Fund,  http://www.freshair.org/,  is also a not for profit agency that helps city kids experience summer in the country, for free.  And for those of you who are addicted to Girl Scout cookies, please note that they have a great summer camp as well:  http://www.girlscouts.org/program/gs_central/camping/.

 But of course, along sunshine and camping comes the inevitable insect bites and possible sunburn.  Ok, here comes the inevitable plug. Don’t look so surprised!  This is an Avon blog after all, LOL.   Now where was I?  Oh yeah, the product placement plug.  The Skin So Soft Bug Guard line offers products for insect protection, sunscreen, and itch relief in case you forgot to use the Bug Guard. 

 sss bug guard plu picaridin towelettessss bug guard lotionsss bug guard itch relief spray
So, all you happy campers out there (yes, pun intended), go out there and enjoy the summer.  Go to the beach, take a swim in the pool or just simply take a walk in the park.  And whatever you do, don’t forget your Skin So Soft Bug Guard!
 
Other Cool Stuff
I recently attended a great round table sponsored by the DSWA to discuss the direct selling business, recruiting specifically.  I got the opportunity to not only learn a few things, but I got the chance to meet some great ladies along the way.  I would like to now take the opportunity to give a shout out to these wonderful business women and their businesses: Roz Kelley representing Mary Kay:  www.marykay.com/rkelley2, Billie Elias representing Discovery Toys:  http://www.toysofdiscovery.com, Marie C. Grant representing Arbonne:  www.arbone.com, Mary-Jean Eraci representing B’s Purses:  www.bspurses.com/meraci,  Regina Brown representing Pure Romance:  www.ReginaBrown38366.Pureromance.com.  I would also like to mention another fellow direct seller Tricia Beaudoin.  Tricia is someone I met on Twitter and she represents Tupperware:  www.mytupperware.com/triciabeaudoin.
If you are interested in any of these products or would like to know more about their businesses, please contact them directly.  They have great products and I am sure they would love to hear from you.
Ok, that’s about all for now.  I hope that you will take advantage of all the summer has to offer and camps that I mentioned.  Please also check out the other direct sellers that mentioned as well.  Hey, there is enough business to go around for everyone!  Let’s try to do our part to stimulate the economy! 🙂 LOL  
Till next time.
Regards,
Tracey   

 

One thought on “Summer Camp

  1. Tracey,
    People rarely comment on my blog (billiediscoverytoys.blogspot.com) so I know what a thrill it will be for you to see a comment here.

    It is very nice of you to mention all of us who were at Wednesday’s meeting! I enjoyed meeting you, and your sweetness in person comes through in the style of your writing.

    There are a few Avon products that I always look to barter Discovery Toys for. Since you have a young nephew, maybe we can work something out.

Leave a Reply

