Martin Luther King Day: Still Chasing The Dream

Today is Martin Luther King Day.  There is not much I can say here that has not already been said about how special this day is and what it means.  Martin Luther King had a dream that he tried to make a reality.  He succeeded for the most part but clearly there is still work to be done, as evidenced with the events that transpired in Tuscon.  Dr. King protested by peaceful means.  His adversaries responded by violence and hateful rhetoric.  Today’s climate of political discourse has seemed to me,  moved away from what Dr. King was trying to promote. 

I think that today is a day to reexamine and reflect what makes this country great: democracy, equal opportunity, and it’s diversity.  Our differences is what make us stronger and it allows us to make our democracy work while giving all the opportunity to reach their highest goals and aspirations.

I have a dream that we wil alll be able to live up to Dr. Kings dream. 

16 thoughts on “Martin Luther King Day: Still Chasing The Dream

  1. I was lucky enough to have been able to meet MLK, Jr. in my freshman year of high school and even got to shake his hand. The warmth and wonderfulness of this great man just resonated in his grasp – I have never been more impressed by or felt more real love toward any famous person or “character” than by this man and was truly honored to get to see him in person and hear him speak, all, obviously, from his huge, warm heart.

    Jan 🙂

  2. I remember listening to his speech and I am a huge fan. I am also very concerned about the viciousness of the political rhetoric and the extremists we hear about via our media. I think we are moving away from MLK’s dream and truly hope we find our way back!
    Today is definitely a good day to contemplate his dream.

  3. I never get tired of hearing this speech. I am grateful that I was alive when Dr. King was, although I also had the pain of being alive for his assassination. So many people fail to appreciate the magnitude of his work, his words, his commitment. Lots of people think we’ve moved past what he talked about, but I say we’ve hardly captured a small part of what he was talking about. Thank you for writing about him today.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer

  4. So many of Martin Luther King Jr.’s lesser known quotes floated through my facebook stream today…he was so eloquent and could pack a punch with so few words. Here is to hoping we realize his dream soon.

    Darcie Newton
    Wine, not whine. Nature not Nurture. Disciplined for profit, none for cheese.
    http://www.mywealthspa.com

  5. As a little girl, my mom taught at MLK Elementary School. At the time, I did not know who MLK was, but as I grew older…I realized what an honor it was for my mom to teach at a school named for such a great man. MLK is a hero that I hope is admired for many generations to come. Rachel

  6. Thanks for sharing 🙂 I prefer to hang onto to the events that cause a feeling of inspiration and tune out the tragedies. I’m sure there’s some denial in that…but creates a more joyous environment for me and my family and as long as I’m teaching them peace I feel I’m contributing. No news in this house…stopped that after living in LA when it was all about mayhem.
    Brandy Mychals
    Communications Coach
    Creator of Split Second Perceptions

  7. Thanks for reminding us. Sometimes it seems as though we have come such a long way and other times as seems as though are regressing and learning nothing from the history. i think it is down to each individual person to decide to try to be a better person..that is the only way true change can come

    Julie Labes the…Fierce over 50 feels much younger, point and click junkie, loves to travel, does not use a jogging stroller, and before you ask, this is NOT my granddaughter..Woman

  8. The important thing is to let go of limiting beliefs including hatred, and petty jealousies so we can look beyond our own small worlds and truly embrace with compassion & generosity, without thought of reward. I would love to see Dr King remembered by a our nations action rather than rhetoric and reaction. And it all starts with one.

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress blending lifestyles and laughter
    http://LYShome.com

  9. I like to think that things aren’t good or bad but that they are constantly changing. And sometimes when it seems that lots of ‘bad’ things are happening, there are really just as many things going on that balance it all out. It depends what direction we are looking in. Who knows how close we are to realising this great man’s dreams. If we all commit to growing and progressing anything is possible.

    Fiona Stolze
    http://fionastolze.wordpress.com

  10. Hi Tracey,

    Thanks for your very nice post — short and sweet, and right to the point. We honor Dr King, especially on this day, but we ought to every day. He inspires us with his vision of brotherhood, his example of the proper use of political non-violence, and for the magnificent “civil rights” movement which he and many others catalyzed in the 1960’s, helping to free us all. A fascinating article in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nonviolence) traces his own inspirations from Gandhi, Tolstoy, Thoreau, back through ALL the major religious teachings. In addition, the article also describes a number of non-violent political movements around the world which he helped inspire.

    IMHO, our strength is not our diversity, but our ability to work together for the greatest good.

  11. Thanks for the reminder of the legacy of Dr. King. Conceptually non-violent protest is easy to champion, but it can be so much harder in practice especially faced with an oppressive injustice – which is why he was truly a remarkable man. I wonder what he would have thought of the Iranian situation today?

  12. It’s easy to take for granted how difficult it was for him and his followers to remain non-violent in the face of so much violence, hatred, and injustice. The civil rights movement would have been even more violent, if not for his leadership.

Leave a Reply

