Father’s Day

Father’s Day. A day we show appreciation to father’s everywhere. We buy them fishing rods, home improvement tools, make them brunch and buy them Hallmark cards. All this just to say “I love you Dad”. Father’s Day, like Mother’s Day, should be everyday. From the day you are born, they feed you, cloth you, protect you and love you.

So enjoy Father’s Day with your dad, but make sure that you show him that you appreciate him not just today, but everyday. I lost my father a few years ago and I still miss him everyday. I don’t have him to buy gifts for, to take out to brunch or give a card to, but I can still tell him that I love him. 

Happy Father’s Day Dad.  I love you.

14 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. Hi Tracey! I agree that it is important to remember our parents and honor them always, not just on designated days! I am thankful my dad is still alive and well, although he and my mom live too far away now and I miss them terribly. They are in the process of trying to sell their home there in Idaho with hopes of moving back to the west coast…they can’t afford to come back to California, but are looking at Portland where one of my sisters lives, so that would not be too bad! FYI, I am an Avon rep, too, although I am not really embracing it as a career…my job as co-owner with my husband for our auto repair facility takes just about all my time! But I do continue to use many of the Avon products and enjoy them…I purchase a lot of stuff for my daughter too. I wish you all the best as you pursue success with being an Avon professional! Maybe when I retire I will pick it up again… : )

  2. Yes indeed Tracey, I do agree with you…and I do know that life can quickly get away from us, so I am happy to have a day to remind me to make an extra special effort to thank my father for his influence. To that end, I too wrote a blog post for him…it’s a great way to tell the world how we feel. Thank you.

  3. My father always enjoyed Father’s Day, and from a young age I made him cards and contributed to a lively celebration. Oddly, I don’t think about him that much now on Father’s Day–he died in 2006–but I do at so many other times. I remember him when events and moments of life bring his spirit to me, when I find myself responding in a way that comes from him, when I see in myself all the things he gave to me. And I think of him when I face a problem and need to know the best way to deal with it. I still trust him to guide me by the legacy he left.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com/blog/
    “Word maven loves–and learns from–ordinary life.”

  4. I can only imagine how difficult it is to celebrate a very commercial holiday like Father’s Day minus a father. My Dad is almost 81 and still with us, but one day that will not be the case and I know I will feel the sadness you are feeling. Believe, though, that he is with you in spirit and you can hold on to all the wonderful memories you have of him, I hope.

  5. I’m sorry you are without your father – holidays always high-light our losses. It sounds like you have much to look back on and reflect and embrace with joy. Unfortunately I did not have a dad who was there for me. However, I have a husband who is the best father I can imagine to our daughter. I celebrate him, the other men in my life, and all men who embrace fatherhood for all that it is.

  6. I’m fortunate enough to still have my dad in my life. As a matter of fact, he lives very close to me. I’m truly blessed. Yet, I know there will be a day that he will not be down the road. Oh, I will miss him, just as you miss your dad.

  7. I too do not have a father to buy gifts for. I have my special days that I think of dad. He passed on our first wedding anniversary so I use that day to always say hello to him. That day is coming up next month. I sometimes know he is near and it’s when I have to pay attention. They are as close as our thoughts. I do miss his hugs.

  8. I know that Hallmark does produce all these specific cards based on holidays but I agree that everyday should be Father’s Day, Mother’s Day and I’ll even add Valentine’s Day. It’s really that every day should be a special day and full of appreciation of all that our parents and loved ones have done for us. Thanks for this.

    xoxo
    Alara

  9. Hi Tracey,
    Lovely message, and beautifully expressed. I agree with your previous commenters, that we ought to celebrate our significant personal relationships ever day. What else we got?
    Robbie

  10. I too lost my Dad almost 14 years ago. Fathers Day, the anniversary of the day he died and his birthday are always hard. I try to focus on making Fathers Day a great day for my husband and daughters and save the mourning for the other days but I do think of him and tell him I love him as I know he’s there somewhere and hears me. I feel him near me most of the time to be honest as I was his darling only daughter. Miss you Dad!
    Louise Edington
    Fearless For Freedom
    http://louiseedington.com

  11. I also lost my many years ago and as a single mom I actually celebrate the part of me that has to be “dad” daily for my daughter 😉 It is a good reminder to let our loved ones know they are cherished every day and not just on their designate holiday!
    Brandy

  12. I too lost my dad about 9 years ago and miss him every day. as it is known ‘Us Brits’ are not the most touchy -feely, huggy-huggy types so while I did not tell my dad i loved him every day, i am secure in the knowledge that he knew it to be true. A lovely post about someone who obvioulsy meant a lot to you

    Julie Labes,…The Fierce over 50 feels much younger point and click junkie loves to travel does not use a jogging stroller and before you ask this is NOT my granddaughter..Woman

  13. I love the fact that you still tell your Dad you love him on Father’s Day even though he is not walking around on the earth anymore. I have times when I feel my Dad’s presence and always respond to him in my thoughts and heart. The relationship continues…

Leave a Reply

