Share & Share Alike

Share and share alike.  You have heard this when you were growing up when playing with your siblings or playmates.  As kids, we never really understood the concept of sharing.  Sure, we were told by our parents and teachers that sharing is the right thing to do.  Sharing is caring.  But as kids we often thought, “No, this is my toy and I don’t want anyone else to play with it!”  Or “Why do I have to share my room with my sister?  Why can’t I have my own room?”   Sound familiar?  But as we grow up and mature we realize that sharing can open up endless possibilities.

Various times throughout my blog posts, I have mentioned events, promotions, and opportunities from my fellow direct sellers and entrepreneurs.  Why do this?  Well as an independent Avon representative, I know how hard it can be to promote my business.  Yes, Avon does support me with various promotional materials, webinars, and advertising.  However, one on one feedback is what works best in my opinion.  I sometimes think that what my fellow entrepreneurs and direct sellers think is what stands out the most.  For example, in my last post, I talked about the Avon Foundation and what it does to bring awareness for causes such as domestic violence and breast cancer.  One of my Facebook friends Tracey Brown who has a wonderful beauty blog was promoting daily beauty finds that focused on pink products for October Breast Cancer Awareness month.  She was kind enough to mention my blog post and share the information in her beauty blog: http: //blingingbeauty.com/?p=14046.   Tracey not only provided her readers with her usual knowledge of  great beauty finds, but also allowed me to gain exposure to a new and wider audience.  Moreover, it is my hope that by mentioning Tracey in this current blog post,  I will gain new readers for her as well.  Share and share alike!

So in the spirit of sharing, I would like to mention a wonderful event that is coming up.  Alba Henderson of Your Focus and Alba’s Exclusive Events is working on a promotion for women to women marketing.  It will introduce AEE’s Vendor Appreciation Holiday and Pre-Launch of  their Marketing 2 Women-owned Businesses Initiative.  Basically the Vendor Appreciation program will provide extra exposure during the busy holiday season by dedicating one week entirely to your business on a first come first served basis.

Alba will promote your business via social media, e-mail, postcards and other promotional materials.  If you would like to know more about this fabulous opportunity, please contact me and I will forward the promo e-mail to you or contact Alba directly at albasevents@gmail.com.  If you would like to learn more about Alba’s Exlusive Events go to http://www.albasexclusiveevents.com.
Thank you for allowing me to share this event with you and I look forward to sharing more with you in the future.  If you have an event or promotion or business opportunity that you would like to share, please let me know. I would be happy to share it here on the blog along with my friends and colleagues.  Thanks again and remember, share and share alike!
16 thoughts on “Share & Share Alike

  1. So powerful! Yes, sharing and helping one another succeed is the most fulfilling and enjoyable way to live. and it is so refreshing to see how you are embracing that way of doing business. I know that through Blogger Monday your blog will gain even more fans and exposure and I hope that Alba’s event will be a smashing success! all the best to you!

  2. The Social Media world is really built for sharing, so it’s a great model for humanity. We are taught to share as children but the message is so often lost as we get older. You’ve come to the right place for your post–Blogger Monday is all about giving as well as receiving. Good luck with your Alba’s event!

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com
    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

  3. Too often we get into a mentality of a fixed pie where if you take more it means that I get less. Sharing is about creating win-win opportunities. Just because you win, doesn’t mean I lose. We can both win. This post is a great reminder to look for opportunities where we can all be successful and help each other.

  4. Growing up in a family of nine, we had to learn to share. It wasn’t always easy but the need to do so became clearer as we matured, just as you describe in your post. As a professional in the health care field, sharing my knowledge and experience with patients while showing genuine interest in their individual concerns builds a sense of community. I believe that sharing resources is the basis of community.
    Maureena Bivins, PhD
    http://www.maureenabivinsphd.com
    Innovative Holistic Practitioner

  5. Sharing is powerful and when done with no expectations of anything in return it makes it 10 times more powerful. As ye sow so shall ye reap. This is one of the reasons I love social media. There are so many givers and sharing unconditionally like yourself its just makes me want to be a big part of it as well.

  6. I think sharing can often be just another way of applying the golden rule – i.e. treat others as you would like to be treated yourself. Conducting yourself and your business this way is win-win for everyone. Thanks for “sharing” this with us 🙂

  7. A lot of people in direct sales can get sort of “territorial” so this is an important concept you bring up. I often have customers for which I can’t provide what they need, so having a group of people to refer to is imperative. It’s a great big world out there and when we share openly it benefits all of us.

  8. I love the idea around sharing, it’s how we as women can help each other grow. I’d love to see more women in business who take charge of their own lives instead of working for wages, but then not everyone is cut out to wait for the income stream. I’ve heard more people doing well with Avon and glad it has been a great experience for you.

  9. Power outage just ate my reply as it killed my network when I tried to post 😦 I wanted to thank you for being one of the “good guys” in our profession, showing that it’s not shark-like behavior and dod-eat-dog as some think it is. I love to promote others’ businesses and events as much as, and sometimes more than, my own. It’s about building relationships and community. Welcome to Blogger Monday 🙂

  10. How beautiful a little idea like this can do and mean to many. I so appreciate you writing this blog. It shows you have an open heart. Thank you.

    Julieanne Case
    Always from the heart!

    Reconnecting you to your essence, joy, vitality, youth.| Healing you from the Inside Out |Reconnective Healing | AgeLoc Skin Care | Pharmanex Supplements

    http://thereconnectivehighway.com

  11. Cross promotions are a very effective way of reaching a broader audience. Glad you were able to find a few people who resonated with your business and ideas so that you could take advantage of their reach to the public and vice versa.

  12. So many times we think of life lessons as being completely separate from business. Or at least we want to think of them as having two different sets of rules. I couldn’t agree more that “share and share alike” is a powerful business principle. People want to be able to get to know you, trust that you will provide solid information – and then will like the fact that you are not just all about self-promotion all the time. Just like you would be “in real life”!

Leave a Reply

