Sharing: Setting Goals

I have recently began to re-boot my direct sales business (again), and in doing so, I’ve decided to set goals.  Now in the past, I have tried to set a goal, but never really followed through.  You may know what I mean.  I’ll sit down, pick a target so to speak and say to myself: “Self, this is what I am aiming to achieve (which could range anywhere from upping my online sales to expanding my customer base).  Ok, ready, set, go!

Well. what do you think happened?  I never attained my goal.  Big surprise, huh?  Why not, you may ask?  Because although I set a goal, I never created a solid plan to achieve it.  I just floundered around, doing what I do and wouldn’t you know it, I achieved (drum roll please)……….nothing.

You know, a wise man once said: “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  Who was this wise man?  Albert Einstein.  Am I saying that I am crazy?  Sometimes I feel that way.  But I am willing to put my crazy ways and crazy days behind me.  And though I do not fancy myself an Albert Einstein wannabe, I would like to be at least a bit smarter than I have been in the past.

So I guess the first thing to do is to set a goal.  Not some far away, nebulous one, but something small I think.  Something that is attainable but not too large that I feel overwhelmed.  I have to think about that a little more.  When I decide what that is, I will let you know.  Second thing to do is to map out a plan of action.  When I pick my goal, how do I go about reaching it?  Some people set up a calendar, then do one thing per day that will put them closer to their goal.  Others pick an image of something that represents their goals.  That image is intended to inspire the work going toward the goal.  It could be a car, a house, or a beach.  Looking at that image everyday before sitting down to work, saying to yourself: “This is what I need to do to help me get that new car, buy that new house, or go on that much needed vacation.”

Moreover, some people write a journal documenting their journey toward their goal.  Aha! I do believe that I have experienced that much talked about “Aha” moment.  I think Oprah would be proud.  I mean what am I doing now?  I am blogging.  I can document my journey and hopefully with your help, you can keep me accountable.  I would love to hear what you have to say along with any advice you care to give me.

So if there is anyone out there who is working on their goals or has achieved them, please let me know.  Working toward a goal is hard enough, but knowing that there are people out there cheering you on and being supportive, makes the journey a little easier to travel.

 

2 thoughts on “Sharing: Setting Goals

  1. Absolutely Tracey having “The Right” support does make the goal journey a little easier. That’s why it’s important to appreciate your support group at all times. I never find it robbery to say thank you and I couldn’t say it enough. Great blog post:-)

  2. Just keep in mind that I will always have your back. Stay on track. The best is yet to come if you want it badly enough.

Leave a Reply

